In This Guide
- DHA Exam Pass Marks 2026: The Quick Answer
- How DHA Scoring Works
- What a Pass Mark Means in Correct Answers
- Check Where You Stand Against Your Pass Mark
- How Pass Marks Are Set and Reported
- Physician Exams: GP, Specialist and Consultant
- Dentist Exams: General, Specialist and Consultant
- Nursing and Midwifery Exams
- Allied Health and Pharmacy Exams
- TCIM Exams
- Highest and Lowest Pass Marks by Category
- Technician vs Technologist: Where the Cut Score Moves
- Patterns That Help You Plan
- How to Use the Table to Plan
- Common Misreadings of the Pass Mark Table
- Attempts, Retakes and What a Fail Means
- How Other GCC Regulators Score Their Exams
- How Neelim Helps You Practise to the Published Pass Mark
DHA Exam Pass Marks 2026: The Quick Answer
DHA pass marks run from 50% to 70%, and the mark depends on your exact title, not only your profession. Registered Nurse is 50%, General Practitioner is 60%, Pharmacist is 60%, General Dentist is 60%, and most specialist physician exams are 60% or 65%. Sixteen exams are set at 70%. The list below uses DHA's own CBT Guideline (updated September 2026) and covers all 117 active computer-based titles.
| Group | Active titles | Usual format | Pass mark range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physicians (GP, specialists, consultants, privilege) | 45 | 150 questions in 3 h (consultants 100) | 55% to 70% |
| Dentists (general, specialists, consultants) | 17 | 150 questions in 3 h (consultants 100) | 60% to 70% |
| Nurses and midwives | 3 | 150 questions in 3 h | 50% |
| Allied health and pharmacy | 47 | 150 questions in 3 h (some 100 or 70) | 50% to 70% |
| Traditional, complementary and integrative medicine (TCIM) | 5 | 100 questions in 2 h | 60% |
Three things to know before you read the tables. First, DHA shows you Pass or Fail only, never your score, so a pass mark is a target for your practice papers, not a number you will see on result day. Second, the UAE allows 3 attempts in total across DHA, DOH, MOHAP and SHA (Unified PQR clause 1.5.4), so one weak first attempt costs more than it seems. Third, titles that are not in this list are not "exam-free". DHA assesses them by oral assessment - see our guide to the DHA titles that get an oral instead of a CBT .
For the official fee and pass mark pages, see DHA pass marks and DHA exam fees . For the full DHA rules, see the DHA exam overview .
Find your title in the tables, open its question bank from the same row, and test yourself with a free timed mock. You can browse every bank on the exam prep page and every free mock on the mock exam page. The sections after the tables explain how to read the numbers, so the pass mark becomes a study target and not only a figure.
How DHA Scoring Works
DHA publishes the pass mark for each exam as a percentage on the exam's specification page in the CBT Guideline. DHA also says it calculates the result from the number of correct answers and the weighting of each domain. That means two things for you.
- The percentage is the standard to aim for, but DHA does not publish how each domain is weighted into the final decision, so a strong score in one domain may not rescue a very weak one.
- DHA can change an exam's format or pass mark without updating the guideline, so check your exam on Sheryan before you book.
Results are posted to your Sheryan account as Pass or Fail, normally within 2 working days. Prometric also sends a Learning Outcome letter that describes general strengths and weaknesses, but it does not state your result. You will not see a score, so the best way to find your gaps is to sit timed practice papers that report a score by domain.
Exam fees are paid to Prometric in US dollars, and DHA also charges a credentialing fee of AED 200 in Sheryan for every category. The exam fee is USD 280 for physicians and dentists, USD 240 for nursing and most allied titles, and USD 180 for TCIM, Laser Hair Reduction and a few shorter allied exams. Fees are not refunded if you reschedule, cancel late or do not attend.
What a Pass Mark Means in Correct Answers
A percentage is easy to read but hard to plan with. The table turns each pass mark into a number of correct answers, if every question counts equally. The real exam also uses domain weighting, so treat the number as a minimum, not a safe target.
| Exam length | Pass mark | Correct answers at equal weight | Questions you can miss |
|---|---|---|---|
| 150 questions | 50% | 75 | 75 |
| 150 questions | 55% | 82.5, plan for 83 | about 67 |
| 150 questions | 60% | 90 | 60 |
| 150 questions | 65% | 97.5, plan for 98 | about 52 |
| 150 questions | 70% | 105 | 45 |
| 100 questions | 50% to 70% | 50, 55, 60, 65 or 70 | 50, 45, 40, 35 or 30 |
| 70 questions (Laser Hair Reduction) | 60% | 42 | 28 |
DHA does not state its rounding rule for half questions, so plan for the next whole number. The table shows a point that surprises many candidates. A 100-question consultant exam at 70% lets you miss 30 questions. A 150-question Registered Nurse exam at 50% lets you miss 75. The consultant has fewer questions and less room for error, and each question counts for 1% of the paper.
Time matters in the same way. Both the 150-question exams in 3 hours and the 100-question exams in 2 hours give you 72 seconds per question. DHA says the time includes registration and the process introduction, so your net time is shorter. Your practice should therefore run a little faster than 72 seconds.
Check Where You Stand Against Your Pass Mark
Pick your title from the tables and take its free timed mock. It scores you against the real pass mark and shows your result by domain, which the DHA exam never will. Then work through the bank in the same row of the table. If you are unsure which title applies to you, use the professional title classifier, or request an eligibility check and we will map your qualifications to the right title and exam.
How Pass Marks Are Set and Reported
DHA gives one pass mark for each exam, as a percentage, on that exam's specification page. DHA also says that its exams are developed and validated by subject matter experts and are updated often. It does not publish how it chooses a percentage for a title, so it is not possible to say from DHA's documents whether a method such as a standard-setting panel is used. Be careful with any website that explains "why" a title is 55% or 65%. The honest answer is that the reason is not published.
What DHA does publish is how the result is reported. There are three facts to remember.
- You see Pass or Fail only. DHA does not share your score in Sheryan. The result is normally uploaded within 2 working days.
- The result uses weighting. DHA says the result is calculated from the number of correct answers and the weighting of each domain. The weights are not published.
- DHA can change an exam. The guideline says DHA can change a format or a pass score without updating the document. Check Sheryan before you book.
Prometric also sends a Learning Outcome letter. It describes general strengths and weaknesses, but it does not state whether you passed. If you want to know where you lose marks, you need practice papers that report by domain, because the real exam will not. This is also why our free mocks report your result against the pass mark of your own exam.
Physician Exams: GP, Specialist and Consultant
The General Practitioner exam (GEN5331) is 150 questions in 3 hours at 60%. Specialist exams are 150 questions in 3 hours. Most are 65%, nine are 60%, Sports Medicine is 55%, and Neurosurgery and Pediatrics are 70%. Hematopathology (HEM4711) is the one specialist exam with 100 questions.
General practice and privilege
| Code | Title (links to the question bank) | Questions | Time | Exam fee | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GEN5331 | General Practice | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| LHR6103 | Laser Hair Reduction - Privilege | 70 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
Specialist physicians
Consultant physicians (CBT titles only)
Only six consultant specialties sit a computer-based exam: Dermatology, Endocrinology, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Ophthalmology and Pediatrics. They have 100 questions in 3 hours and a 70% pass mark. Every other consultant title is assessed orally.
| Code | Title (links to the question bank) | Questions | Time | Exam fee | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DER5762 | Consultant Dermatology | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| CEN6052 | Consultant Endocrinology | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| FAM5742 | Consultant Family Medicine | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| INT5732 | Consultant Internal Medicine | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| COP6072 | Consultant Ophthalmology | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| PED5712 | Consultant Pediatrics | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
Reading notes for physicians. Of the 45 physician titles, 37 are 150 questions in 3 hours, 7 are 100 questions in 3 hours (6 consultant exams and Hematopathology) and one is the 70-question Laser Hair Reduction privilege. Within the specialist group the mark depends on the specialty, not on the length of training. Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Otolaryngology, Pulmonary Disease, Reproductive Medicine and Urology are 60%, most others are 65%, and Pediatrics and Neurosurgery are 70%. A candidate for Pediatrics therefore needs 105 correct answers out of 150 at equal weight, while a Family Medicine candidate needs 90.
Dentist Exams: General, Specialist and Consultant
The General Dentist exam (GEN5301) is 150 questions in 3 hours at 60%. Every specialist dental exam is also 60%, except Implantology at 65%. Consultant dental exams are 100 questions at 70%. For a full comparison across the Gulf, read our dentist exam preparation guide .
| Code | Title (links to the question bank) | Questions | Time | Exam fee | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GEN5301 | General Dentist | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| IMP4411 | Implantology | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 65% |
| END5021 | Specialist Endodontics | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| OMS5351 | Specialist Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| ORS5941 | Specialist Oral Surgery | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| ORD5211 | Specialist Orthodontics | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| PED5911 | Specialist Pediatric Dentistry | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| PER5131 | Specialist Periodontics | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| PRO5051 | Specialist Prosthodontics | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| RES5221 | Specialist Restorative Dentistry | 150 | 3 h | USD 280 | 60% |
| CEN5022 | Consultant Endodontics | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| COR6082 | Consultant Oral Surgery | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| COD6072 | Consultant Orthodontics | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| CPE5912 | Consultant Pediatric Dentistry | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| PRI5772 | Consultant Periodontics | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| CBR6032 | Consultant Prosthodontics | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
| CRE5222 | Consultant Restorative Dentistry | 100 | 3 h | USD 280 | 70% |
Nursing and Midwifery Exams
All three active nursing and midwifery exams are 150 questions in 3 hours at 50%, with a USD 240 fee. DHA also lists Assistant Midwife (MID5101), but it is marked inactive, so it is not included here. For more detail, see our Registered Nurse exam preparation guide .
| Code | Title (links to the question bank) | Questions | Time | Exam fee | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARN5061 | Assistant Nurse | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| MID5104 | Registered Midwife | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| RNT0312 | Registered Nurse | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
Allied Health and Pharmacy Exams
Allied health is the widest group: 47 active titles with pass marks from 50% to 70%. Clinical Pharmacy (PHO5482) is the highest at 70%. The clinical scientist exams are 65%. If your title has a technician and a technologist grade, the technologist exam often has a pass mark 5 points higher (not always). Our guide to technician and technologist exams lists each pair.
| Code | Title (links to the question bank) | Questions | Time | Exam fee | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BYT5862 | Aesthetician / Beauty Therapist | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 65% |
| ANA5701 | Anesthesia Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| ANA5702 | Anesthesia Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 60% |
| AUD4312 | Audiologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| AUD4311 | Audiology Assistant | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| CAR5371 | Cardiac Perfusionist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| CTE5862 | Cast Technician | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 50% |
| STE5653 | Central Sterile Services (CSS) Aide | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| STE5652 | Central Sterile Services (CSS) Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| BIC5662 | Clinical Biochemistry - Clinical Scientist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 65% |
| BIC5661 | Clinical Biochemistry Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| NUT4112 | Clinical Dietitian | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| PHO5482 | Clinical Pharmacy | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 70% |
| CPS5071 | Clinical Psychology | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| DAS5111 | Dental Assistant | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 60% |
| DEN5141 | Dental Hygienist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| DLT5522 | Dental Lab Aide | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| DLT5521 | Dental Lab Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| RDT5161 | Dialysis Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| RDT5162 | Dialysis Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| ECG5612 | ECG Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| ECG5613 | ECG Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| MTH4611 | Hematology - Clinical Scientist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 65% |
| MTH4612 | Hematology Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| LHR6102 | Laser Hair Reduction Technician | 70 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
| MAS5511 | Massage Therapist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| LAB5601 | Medical Laboratory Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| LAB5631 | Medical Laboratory Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| MIC5692 | Medical Microbiology - Clinical Scientist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 65% |
| MIC5691 | Medical Microbiology Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| NUT4111 | Nutritionist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| ORA5562 | Occupational Therapist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| ORA5563 | Occupational Therapy Assistant | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| OPE6112 | Operation Theatre Technician | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 50% |
| OPE6113 | Operation Theatre Technologist | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 55% |
| OPT5581 | Optometrist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| PHO5481 | Pharmacist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 60% |
| PHT5451 | Pharmacy Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| PHY5121 | Physiotherapist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| PHY4011 | Physiotherapy Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| PRO5951 | Prosthetics & Orthotics Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| PRO5952 | Prosthetics & Orthotics Technologist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 60% |
| RAD5152 | Radiographer | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| RAD5622 | Radiography Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 50% |
| RES5881 | Respiratory Technician | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 55% |
| RES5882 | Respiratory Therapist | 150 | 3 h | USD 240 | 60% |
| SPL6732 | Speech Therapist/Speech & Language Pathologist | 100 | 3 h | USD 240 | 60% |
Reading notes for allied health. Five allied exams are shorter: Aesthetician, Cast Technician and the two Operation Theatre exams are 100 questions in 2 hours at USD 180, Laser Hair Reduction Technician is 70 questions in 2 hours, and Speech Therapist is 100 questions in 3 hours at USD 240. If your title is one of these, the number of questions you can miss is smaller than in a 150-question paper at the same percentage, and the fee is lower.
TCIM Exams
The five coded TCIM exams are 100 questions in 2 hours at 60%, with a USD 180 fee. Other TCIM titles in the PQR, such as Chiropractor, Osteopathy, Naturopathy and Traditional Chinese Medicine, are not on this list. For those titles DHA applies its oral rule. Our complementary medicine licensing guide covers the country rules.
| Code | Title (links to the question bank) | Questions | Time | Exam fee | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PAC6092 | Acupuncture Practitioner | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
| PAY5852 | Ayurveda Practitioner | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
| HIJ5862 | Hijama Therapist | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
| PHO5832 | Homeopathy Practitioner | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
| PUN6062 | Unani Practitioner | 100 | 2 h | USD 180 | 60% |
Highest and Lowest Pass Marks by Category
The 117 active titles use five pass marks. Here is how they are spread.
| Pass mark | Number of exams | Where they sit |
|---|---|---|
| 50% | 21 | All 3 nursing and midwifery exams, plus 18 allied titles such as Physiotherapist and the lab technician grades |
| 55% | 18 | Sports Medicine and 17 allied titles |
| 60% | 32 | General Practice, Laser Hair Reduction Privilege, 9 specialist physician exams, General Dentist and 8 dental specialties, 7 allied titles (including Laser Hair Reduction Technician), and all 5 TCIM exams |
| 65% | 30 | 25 specialist physician exams, Implantology, Aesthetician and 3 clinical scientist exams |
| 70% | 16 | Neurosurgery, Pediatrics, 6 physician consultants, 7 dental consultants and Clinical Pharmacy |
By category
| Category | Titles | Lowest | Highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physicians | 45 | 55% (Specialist Sports Medicine) | 70% (Neurosurgery, Pediatrics and 6 consultant exams) |
| Dentists | 17 | 60% (General Dentist and 8 specialists) | 70% (7 consultant exams) |
| Nurses and midwives | 3 | 50% | 50% |
| Allied health and pharmacy | 47 | 50% (18 titles) | 70% (Clinical Pharmacy) |
| TCIM | 5 | 60% | 60% |
What explains the pattern?
DHA does not explain it, so the following is our reading of the data, not an official reason. First, seniority pushes the mark up. Every consultant exam is 70%, and the highest allied exam is Clinical Pharmacy, 10 points above Pharmacist at 60%. Second, the consultant papers have only 100 questions, so there is little room to hide. Third, the lowest marks sit in the widest, entry-level groups. Registered Nurse, Assistant Nurse and Registered Midwife are all 50% on 150 questions, and the exams cover broad bedside knowledge.
A low mark does not mean a light exam. A candidate who fails a 50% paper has still missed 76 or more of 150 questions. Compare the blueprint, not only the mark. Our Registered Nurse exam guide and General Practitioner exam guide show how a domain blueprint looks.
Technician vs Technologist: Where the Cut Score Moves
Many allied titles have two or three grades. The higher grade often has a pass mark 5 points higher, but the pattern is not universal. This table uses DHA's own figures.
| Lower grade | Higher grade | Pass marks | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anesthesia Technician | Anesthesia Technologist | 55% to 60% | +5 |
| Dialysis Technician | Dialysis Technologist | 50% to 55% | +5 |
| ECG Technician | ECG Technologist | 50% to 55% | +5 |
| Operation Theatre Technician | Operation Theatre Technologist | 50% to 55% | +5 |
| Prosthetics and Orthotics Technician | Prosthetics and Orthotics Technologist | 55% to 60% | +5 |
| Respiratory Technician | Respiratory Therapist | 55% to 60% | +5 |
| Radiography Technician | Radiographer | 50% to 55% | +5 |
| Pharmacy Technician | Pharmacist | 55% to 60% | +5 |
| Medical Laboratory Technician | Medical Laboratory Technologist | 50% for both | 0 |
| Physiotherapy Technician | Physiotherapist | 50% for both | 0 |
| CSS Aide | CSS Technician | 50% for both | 0 |
| Clinical Biochemistry Technologist | Clinical Biochemistry - Clinical Scientist | 50% to 65% | +15 |
| Hematology Technologist | Hematology - Clinical Scientist | 55% to 65% | +10 |
| Medical Microbiology Technologist | Medical Microbiology - Clinical Scientist | 55% to 65% | +10 |
Three lessons follow. First, most pairs sit 5 points apart, so a technologist should plan for a slightly higher practice score than a technician. Second, the clinical scientist exams are the big jumps, up to 15 points above the matching technologist exam, and they are the same length (150 questions in 3 hours). Third, in some pairs the mark is equal, and the difference lies in the content level. The grade on your application decides the exam. Applying under a lower grade to get a lower mark can waste an attempt, because the PQR title must match your qualifications. Our technician and technologist guide lists each pair and the PQR requirements.
Patterns That Help You Plan
- Higher grade, higher mark. Pharmacy Technician is 55%, Pharmacist 60% and Clinical Pharmacy 70%. Anesthesia Technician is 55% and Anesthesia Technologist 60%. Respiratory Technician is 55% and Respiratory Therapist 60%.
- Fewer questions does not mean easier. Consultant exams have 100 questions but a 70% pass mark, so you can miss only 30 of them.
- Time per question. A 150-question exam in 3 hours gives 72 seconds a question, and DHA says the 3 hours include registration and the process introduction. The 100-question TCIM exams give 72 seconds too.
- The lowest mark is not always the easiest paper. A 50% mark applies to a very wide range of content for Registered Nurse and Physiotherapist, so the blueprint matters more than the mark.
A sensible target is to score 10 to 15 points above the published mark on full, timed practice papers. Any practice paper is only a sample, and you will never see your real score.
One more pattern to use: the TCIM, Aesthetician and Cast Technician exams are 100 questions in 2 hours with a USD 180 fee, so the cost of a failed attempt is lower, but the number of attempts is not. The three-attempt limit still applies.
How to Use the Table to Plan
Use the tables as a planning tool in five steps.
- Find your exact title. The PQR title, not your job title, decides the exam. Use the professional title classifier.
- Convert the mark to a target. Add 10 to 15 points to the pass mark. For a 60% exam, aim for 70% to 75% on timed papers. For a 70% exam, aim for 80% or more, which leaves less room, so allow more weeks.
- Set your timing. Divide the exam time by the number of questions and practise at a slightly faster pace.
- Estimate the cost of the worst case. The table below uses the exam fees only, before the AED 200 Sheryan credentialing fee, DataFlow and travel.
- Book only when ready. Two timed papers above your target, a few days apart, are a better signal than one good day.
| Exam fee tier | One attempt | Three attempts | Examples |
|---|---|---|---|
| USD 280 | about AED 1,028 | USD 840, about AED 3,085 | Physicians and dentists |
| USD 240 | about AED 881 | USD 720, about AED 2,644 | Nursing and most allied titles |
| USD 180 | about AED 661 | USD 540, about AED 1,983 | TCIM, Laser Hair Reduction, Aesthetician and a few short allied exams |
AED figures use the AED 3.6725 peg and are our conversion, because DHA sets its fees in USD. Fees are not refunded if you reschedule late, cancel late or do not attend. See the official DHA fees page and pass marks page, and confirm the latest figures on Sheryan before you pay.
Common Misreadings of the Pass Mark Table
- "A lower mark means an easier exam." Not necessarily. The mark is a share of a paper whose content level differs by title. The blueprint tells you more than the number.
- "The mark is the score I will see." You will see only Pass or Fail. Use timed practice papers to see a number.
- "The same title has the same mark at every authority." DOH, MOHAP and SHA publish no pass mark, and other GCC regulators use their own scales. Do not carry a DHA figure across.
- "The AED fee on a website is official." DHA sets exam fees in USD. Any AED figure is a conversion, and the credentialing fee is separate.
- "I can wait and see what the first attempt feels like." Every attempt counts towards the three allowed in the UAE.
Attempts, Retakes and What a Fail Means
Under Unified PQR clause 1.5.4 you have three attempts in total across DHA, DOH, MOHAP and SHA. After three failures, clause 1.5.5 can give one final attempt with a different authority, except for Tier 3 applicants upgrading to Consultant. DHA sets no waiting time between attempts, but you pay the exam fee again each time. You must declare earlier attempts (clause 1.5.6).
Our guides to retaking a failed exam and passing the DHA exam on the first attempt explain what to do after a fail and how to plan the first sitting. To compare DHA with Saudi and Qatar, read DHA vs SCFHS vs QCHP .
The three-attempt rule changes how you should read a pass mark. You have three attempts across the whole UAE, so a first attempt that is just "a try" uses a third of your allowance, wherever you made it. If you failed at DOH, MOHAP or SHA, you must declare it, and that attempt reduces what is left at DHA. After three failures DHA blocks reapplication for two years, and clause 1.5.5 can give one final attempt at a different authority, or a fourth DHA attempt on a declaration that you did not fail elsewhere. Clause 1.5.8 gives three new attempts after an additional recognised qualification or 2 years of licensed clinical experience. DHA sets no waiting time between attempts, so the practical limit is your readiness and seat availability, not a calendar.
The result is Pass or Fail only, so a failure gives you no number. Treat each fail as a request for a domain-by-domain plan, and read the comeback guide if you have used two attempts already.
How Other GCC Regulators Score Their Exams
DHA's percentage system is not the model everywhere. This table uses only what each regulator publishes in the documents we hold.
| Regulator | How scoring works | Attempts |
|---|---|---|
| SCFHS (Saudi Arabia) | Licensure exams report a scaled score on a 200 to 800 scale. Pass marks include 500 (SNLE, SPSLE), 530 (SRTLE, SLLE), 536 (SPLE), 542 (SDLE, SRCLE, SCNLE) and 560 (SMLE). Results come 2 to 6 weeks after the test window closes | Up to four a year |
| QCHP / DHP (Qatar) | Cut scores published for 61 exams: 60% for GPs, general dentists and pharmacists, 50% for nursing, midwifery and allied support titles, 65% for 33 of 34 physician specialties and all 8 dental specialties, 55% for Sports Medicine. 150 questions in 3 hours | Five consecutive, with rounding up allowed if your best score is within 3 marks. A pass is valid for 3 years |
| OMSB (Oman) | Pass marks from 50% to 65% by exam. Most exams are 100 questions in 2 hours 30 minutes. Score report within 24 hours | No maximum stated on the Pearson VUE page |
| MOH Kuwait | 60% for Registered Nurse and General Practitioner. Internal Medicine 65% at Registrar level and 70% at Senior level. 150 questions in 170 minutes | Three, six weeks apart (Ophthalmology allows two) |
| NHRA (Bahrain) | No pass mark, question count or duration published in the documents we could verify | Pharmacy: four consecutive attempts within three years |
| DOH (Abu Dhabi) | Pass or Fail only. No pass mark published | 3 in total across DHA, DOH, MOHAP and SHA, re-sit 3 months after a fail |
| MOHAP and SHA | No pass mark or format published | 3 in total across the four UAE authorities |
The SCFHS system needs one extra explanation. A scaled score is not a percentage. SCFHS sets the pass mark through a standard-setting panel and its Central Assessment Committee approves it, and up to 10% of the questions in a licensure exam are unscored pilot items. The flat 60% or 70% that you may read online does not apply to those exams. SCFHS classification exams, by contrast, use percentages: 65% at Registrar and 70% at Senior Registrar for physician and dental specialties, 60% for allied specialists, and usually 55% for technicians.
For MOHAP, third-party sites quote anything from 50% to 70%, and they contradict each other. None of those figures is official. Compare the DHA, SCFHS and QCHP systems in our three-way comparison, and read the DOH, MOHAP, SCFHS and QCHP pages for each regulator's own rules.
How Neelim Helps You Practise to the Published Pass Mark
Every DHA title in the tables above links to its Neelim question bank. The banks are original questions written to the published blueprint, with a rationale for each answer. We do not sell recalled or leaked exam questions, and we cannot promise a pass. Each question bank has sample questions you can read first, and each has a free timed mock that scores you against the pass mark for your exam.
Start with the free mock for your title, for example Registered Nurse, Pharmacist, General Practitioner, General Dentist or Radiographer. Then choose the full bank, such as the Registered Nurse bank or the General Practitioner bank. For consultant oral titles, see consultant oral preparation. If you are not sure which title or route applies, request an eligibility check. Titles outside the CBT list are explained in our oral assessment guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
50%. It applies to 21 active exams, including Registered Nurse, Assistant Nurse, Registered Midwife, Physiotherapist, Medical Laboratory Technician and Medical Laboratory Technologist.
70%. Sixteen active exams use it: Specialist Neurosurgery, Specialist Pediatrics, six Consultant physician exams, seven Consultant dental exams and Clinical Pharmacy.
No. DHA posts Pass or Fail to your Sheryan account and does not share the score. Prometric sends a Learning Outcome letter with general strengths and weaknesses, but it does not state your result.
DHA publishes the pass mark as a percentage. It also says it calculates the result from the number of correct answers and the weighting of each domain, so treat the percentage as a minimum target and cover every domain.
Any title that is not on the DHA CBT list is assessed by oral assessment. This includes most consultant physician titles and many allied health titles. See our guide to DHA oral assessment titles for counts by category.
You have 3 attempts in total across DHA, DOH, MOHAP and SHA, not 3 each. After three failures one final attempt with a different UAE authority may be possible under PQR clause 1.5.5.
Yes. DHA says it can change an exam format or pass score without updating the guideline. Confirm your exam details on Sheryan before you book.
Not necessarily. DOH, MOHAP and SHA publish no per-title pass mark in the documents we checked. Do not assume the DHA figure applies to them. Confirm with the regulator.
90 if every question counts equally. DHA says it also weights domains, so treat 90 as a minimum and aim for 10 to 15 points above the pass mark in timed practice.
No. Most pairs are 5 points apart, but Medical Laboratory, Physiotherapy and CSS grades share 50%, and the clinical scientist exams are 10 to 15 points above the matching technologist exam.
Not for licensure exams. SCFHS reports a scaled score on a 200 to 800 scale, with pass marks such as 560 for the SMLE and 500 for the SNLE. Its classification exams use percentages.
Exam fees alone would be USD 840 for physicians and dentists, USD 720 for nursing and most allied titles, and USD 540 for TCIM, before the AED 200 credentialing fee and other costs. Fees are not refunded.
Need Expert Help With Your License?
Navigating the licensing process on your own can be overwhelming. Our dedicated licensing administrators handle every step - from document preparation and Dataflow submission to exam registration and final application. Get started with a free eligibility assessment today.
Neelim Editorial Team
Healthcare Licensing Specialists
The Neelim team has helped thousands of healthcare professionals obtain their GCC licenses. With direct experience across DHA, DOH, MOHAP, SCFHS, QCHP, NHRA, and all other GCC authorities, we provide expert guidance at every step of the licensing journey.